top of page

11th EdukCircle Convention Media Communication

Media and Politics: Reporting Philippines Recent Political Scandals

U.P. Theater, University of the Philippines Diliman, August 17, 2014

Dr. Clarita Carlos, Professor at the University of the Philippines Diliman and Ms. Nancy Carvajal, senior reporter of the Philippine Daily Inquirer, are two of the EdukCircle's distinguished speakers during the 11th EduckCircle Convention on Media Communication last August 17, 2014 at the U.P. Theater.


The two speakers have given various insights on recent political contorversies like the Priority Development Assistance Funds (PDAF) and the Disbursement Acceleration Program. Dr. Carlos also encouraged the students to help uplift the country by becoming more knowledgeable of what's going on in the country especially that the ASEAN integration  will soon take effect.


Carvajal, meanwhile shared her experiences in uncovering the truth behind PDAF scandal. She was the first to expose how some senators and congressmen allocated their PDAF to bogus companies of Janet Lim Napoles.

3 member journalist panel gave the participants tips and strategies on how to cover political controversies: how to maintain sources confidentiality, how to validate on the authenticity of the evidence and how to deal with interviewees. Panel members are Ms. Susan Enriquez, reporter/host of GMA, Mr. Mark Salazar, reporter/anchor of GMA and Ms. Cecille Lardizabal, senior desk officer of 9 News.

Mr. Alexander M. Baltazar

Convention Chairman


Honorary Chairmen:


Dr. Priscilla B. Marzan

Dean, Psychology Program

St. Paul University Manila


Prof. Anne G. Zoleta

Chair, Mass Communication Department

San Sebastian College Recoletos Manila


Prof. Rosanni Sarile

Director, Marketing Communications Department

De La Salle University Dasmarinas


Dr. Marie Lee Anne P. Castro

Faculty Member, School of Humanities

Saint Louis University, Baguio City


Prof. Celeste C. Marquez

Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Laguna State Polytechnic University, Main Campus


Atty. Anunciacion C. Bernardo

Chair, Liberal Arts

Lyceum of the Philippines University Batangas

Panel Members:


Ms. Vanessa N. Ignacio

Chair, Communication and Media Studies

San Beda College Alabang


Prof. Manuel O. Dasig, Jr.

Faculty Member, Communication and Media

Olivares College


Prof. Beverlie H. Garcia

Chair, Social Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences

Manuel S. Enverga University Foundation


Dr. Melanie V. Briones

Faculty Member,

University of the Assumption


Mr. Rustom R. Alvarez                                 Instructor/Broadcaster

Sacred Heart College, Lucena


Prof. Ma. Marietta C. Alvarez

Coordinator, Liberal Arts

Centro Escolar University Malolos

Dr. Evelyn T. Rabino

Chair, Department of Social Science

University of Batangas


Mr. Reginald H. Gonzales

Coordinator, Communication and Multimedia Arts,

Lyceum of the Philippines University Cavite


Prof. Maria Teresa De Guzman

Chair, Communication Arts

Baliuag University


Prof. Riechilda E. Ulili

Lecturer, Department of Communication

Miriam College 


Prof. Katrina Q. Mamaril

Faculty Member, Language and Comm Dep’t.

University of the Cordilleras

bottom of page