top of page

LPU Laguna Bags Gold Award at the 8th EdukCircle Documentary Making Competition

The Lyceum of the Philippines University Laguna bagged this year's Gold Award at the 8th EdukCircle Documentary Making Competition held at the AFP Theater, Camp Aguinaldo in Quezon City last Saturday, September 09, 2017 during the 15th EdukCircle Convention on Media Communication. Its documentary entitled, "Tugatog ng Tagumpay" bested 19 documentary entries from different universities in the country. It's the second time that LPU Laguna won a Gold Award. It first bagged the recognition in 2015.

Receiving the Silver Award for this year is 5-time finalist and 2-time gold awardee, Sacred Heart College Lucena for its documentary entitled, "Byahe." San Sebastian College Recoletos de Cavite took home the Bronze Award for its documentary entitled, "Bahaghari." This is the first time that SSCRC made it to the finals.  Completing this year's five finalists are "Disabled," University of Perpetual Help System Calamba and "Malulam," Bataan Peninsula State University. They both received Special Citations.

Members of this year's panel of judges are Portia Carbonell (GMA), Voltaire Tupaz (Rappler), Zen Hernandez (ABS-CBN), Branden Milla (TV5), Cecille Lardizabal (CNN Philippines) and Toni Pua (GMA).

Past Documentary Competitions Gold Awardees:

2010 - Sacred Heart College Lucena

2011 - Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila

2012 - Manuel S. Enverga University Foundation

2013 - Manuel S. Enverga University Foundation

2014 - Bataan Peninsula State University

2015 - Lyceum of the Philippines University - Laguna

2016 - Sacred Heart College Lucena

2017 - Lyceum of the Philippines University - Laguna



​The EdukCircle invites communication and journalism students to produce a comprehensive documentary that will showcase their journalism skills and ability to develop persuasive analysis on their featured stories, and impact suggestive solutions on the problems presented. The documentary must uphold social values and responsibilities and must adhere to international principles of journalism ethics.


  • Interested universities/institutions must submit a Letter of Intent to Join (deadline of submission to be announced).

  • All entries must be saved in USB and must be sent to EdukCircle office via courier (LBC or Air21)

  • There is no fee in joining the competition. But since the competition is a part of the EdukCircle journalism convention, all participants must pay the convention registration fee with or without competition entry.

  • The competition is non-thematic. Competitors may submit entries on topics/stories they see fit to win the competition. However, judges will be very particular on the producers/presenters’ ethical practice.

  • The documentary must be produced, written, voiced and edited by a student or group of students headed by a student-producer and supervised by an adviser or group of advisers.

  • There shall only be one entry per university officially endorsed by the college dean.

  • The documentary must not exceed 10 minutes.

  • Entries that use languages other than English or Filipino must have English or Filipino subtitles.

  • Deadline of submission of entries to be announced.

  • Documentaries produced prior to the competition including those that have already won other competitions can still be submitted as long as they meet the criteria and requirements of the competition. Documentaries submitted during the previous EdukCircle documentary competitions are no longer qualified.

  • The board of judges will choose the Top 3 Best Documentaries for final competition/screening which will be held during the  EdukCircle Convention on Media Communication.

  • The decision of the Board of Judges is final. In case there may be conflicts with the rules or any problem that may arise at any given time of the competition, the decision of the Board of Judges shall prevail.

  • Winners in the competition will receive trophies and certificates of excellence.

bottom of page